AuSable River Canoe Marathon Scholarship Fund

As part of an effort to be more proactive within our community the Marathon Committee created a scholarship fund in January 2017.  Our goal is to award four scholarships each year as follows:

  • One to a graduating senior from Crawford AuSable (Grayling) High School
  • One to a graduating senior from Oscoda High School
  • One to a graduating senior from Mio AuSable High School
  • Scholarship to one high school graduating senior who is the son, daughter, or grandchild of a participant in the most recent Marathon, or a participant registered to compete in the current year Marathon.

The Committee agreed that no money from its general operating fund would be used to finance these scholarships.  All amounts are to be generated from special fundraisers. These are some of the activities we have adopted to succeed in this process:

  1. “Coin Change Jars” in area businesses.
    • Already approved:
      • Spike’s Keg-o-Nails (April through July)
      • Grayling 7-11 (Entire Month of July)
      • Moore’s Automotive (Marathon Week)
      • Grayling Restaurant (Entire Month of July)
      • Old Dam Party Store (Entire month of July)
      • Dead Bear Brewing (May through July)
    • Other business under consideration:
      • Grayling Admiral Gas Station/Convenience Center
      • McLean’s Ace Hardware
    • The Committee will provide the jars. Recognition/Thank You will be included in printed Marathon material.
  2. 5% of net profit from annual Grayling Raffle on Race Day
  3. Direct solicitation via website, Facebook page, newspaper articles, etc.

Additional Details

The AuSable River Canoe Marathon Joint Committee approved the formation of a Scholarship Fund at its January 2017 meeting. The Committee will solicit non-deductible donations and conduct various fundraisers to enable the awarding of four scholarships per year.

All applicants must be enrolled to attend a two-year or four-year college degree program, or enrolled to attend an approved trade school. The four awards will be in equal amounts.  The amount granted will depend upon the success of the Committee’s fundraising activities but will be no less than $250.00 each. The scholarship selection will be based on a combination of academic performance and community service. The financial income or assets of the recipient’s family will not be a factor.

The winner of the Grayling scholarship will be announced at Awards Night at the Crawford-AuSable High School in May. The winner of the Oscoda scholarship will be announced at the Awards Night at the Oscoda High School in June. Each recipient’s name and school attending will be published in the Marathon Spectator Guide in July. In addition, the recipients will be invited to attend the Grayling and Oscoda VIP areas during the Marathon. Furthermore, the recipients will be invited to be acknowledged in front of the crowd by the emcee as part of the pre-race program shortly before the start of the race, and also during the Post-Race Awards Dinner after the conclusion of the race. Although not a condition of the scholarship, we kindly request the recipient offer to volunteer three hours of his/her time in putting together this great race.

Donations may be dropped off to John Cherven’s office in the Grayling Mini Mall, or mailed to:

ARICM Scholarship Fund
P.O. Box 911
Grayling, MI  49738

ARICM Scholarship Fund
P.O. Box 652
Oscoda, MI  48750

Thank you for your support!!


2019 Scholarship Recipients

Blane Johnston from Grayling who will be attending Lawrence Technological University to major in Civil Engineering.

Jacob Post from Oscoda who will be attending Ferris State University to major in Automotive Engineering Technology.

Max Winkler, son of Marathon paddler Nate Winkler, who will be attending Northwestern Michigan College to major in Agriculture or Law Enforcement.


ARICM, Inc. is a non-profit organization, but is not a 501(c)(3) organization. Therefore, your donations are not tax deductible.

Click Here to Download Scholarship Application Form

2019 Sponsors and Partners